Product Review: Philips Avent Straw Cup

Best “mom” acquisitions so far:

  • During pregnancy: this super sexy dress from Isabella Oliver (believe me – I had an ass like JLo’s – but sexier)
Super sexy maternity dress

Super Sexy Maternity Dress

  • Newborn stage: an old blue cotton chèche I’d bought in Marrakech years ago, which I used for swaddling Zaz
Baby burrito

Baby Burrito

  • Small baby to now: we switched from bathing her in the sink (we don’t have a bathtub), to bathing her in a giant plastic basin bought in Marjane (usually used for washing clothes or sheep’s intestines – yes, I’ve “done” Eïd El Kbir)
Giant Bathing Basin

Giant Bathing Basin

  • And a couple of months ago I bought this:
Awesome Avent Straw Cup

Awesome Avent Straw Cup

Zaz loves water like she’s never loved milk. Drinking H2O makes her smile more than eating chocolate (actually, I haven’t given her chocolate yet so that’s an assumption on my part – but I’m pretty sure water will trump everything: she’s not a gourmand but she likes to stay hydrated. Good girl.). I had been giving her sips of water out of my glass (tap water? bottled water? fizzy water? YES PLEASE MOMMY). Then when she accidentally stole her friend Adam’s straw cup and figured out how to suck out of it in about 10 seconds flat, I knew we had a winner. Water + independence = happy Zazzy, happy Mommy.

As for the product itself, I have raved about it to many friends, and I’ll do it again here: NO SPILLS. You can tip it upside down, shake it all over the place (yes, H tried it) or throw it across the room (yes, Z tried it), not a drop will fall. I’ve been carting it around in my purse with no leaks so far. The lid bit swivels to hide away the straw so it stays clean. Also, the straw works best for my daughter; for some reason she never managed to use a sippy cup (and she still doesn’t drink from a bottle on her own – sigh).

So, 10 out of 10 for me.

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Philips Avent Straw Cup

  1. Pingback: ROI | As the Crew Flew

Leave a Reply

