Make Christmas Cake: check

This is my second time making The Christmas Cake. The last time was when my whole family went to Australia for Christmas, and I stayed in France, working at Hidden Cabin. It was SO MUCH FUN calling up Mom and Dad with business-related questions and for it to already be cocktail o’clock Down Under. I just LOVED being all alone in the freezing cold office while they were having barbecued lobster on the beach in Santa hats. So anyway, I made the cakes, and undercooked them, and brought them to my then-boyfriend’s parents’ home for Christmas. They didn’t really get the awesome concept of whiskey-soaked (underbaked) fruit cake so I ended up eating most of it myself. I did not get salmonella.

This time round I took my time (3 days) and did it right. Hopefully. We’ll find out on Christmas Day.

First step: make applesauce.

First step: make applesauce.

Second step: eat applesauce (and by the way, she totally said "applesauce"!)

Step 2: eat applesauce (and by the way, she totally said “applesauce”!)

Soaking dried fruit in wine.

Soaking dried fruit in wine. Try eating a wine-drenched glacé cherry with a square of dark chocolate. Heaven.

Flour mix.

Flour mix.

How many raisins-in-wine should a toddler be allowed to eat?

How many raisins-in-wine should a toddler be allowed to eat?

Et voilà ! Now the whiskey.

Et voilà ! Now the whiskey.

Now I just have to remember to “feed the cake” every night 🙂

2 thoughts on “Make Christmas Cake: check

  1. Not a fan of Xmas cake, but yours looks delish, and digging the Moroccan jug/Scottish bowl combo…and Zaz “helping” you out with the whiskey soaked raisins! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

