The Mother in the Boat

I cry
My tears are nothing

When I brush my children’s hair, I think –
She must have done the same
When I kiss them goodnight,
When I lose patience, when I scold,
When I hug them tight

She must have said the same words,
Made the same gestures,
Given the time, the love, the effort

“Nobody puts their kids on a boat,
unless the water is safer than the land”
Home spewed you into deathly straits
We can’t imagine.
Lucky us.

My heart is heavy
Its weight is nothing

Leave a Reply

